Key people across different industries were honored on Saturday at the 2023-2024 Rotary Golden Wheel Awards and the Mario R. Nery Vocational Excellence Award in Pasig City. 

The Rotary Golden Wheel Awards was established to recognize the contributions of notable people in the public and private sector.

In his welcoming message, Rotary Club of Sta. Mesa Quezon City Past President Robert Nazal shared that the awardees’ endeavors are not “merely acknowledged, but are celebrated with the deepest esteem and admiration.”

The recipients of the 2023-2024 Rotary Golden Wheel Awards include Maria Aileen Abiva (education), Philippine National Police Chief Benjamin Acorda Jr. (public order and safety), Adam Gabriel Alejo (entertainment), LtGen. Greg Almerol (national defense and security), Alfonso Corpus Bolipata (culture and arts), Dr. Maria Minerva Calimag (medicine), Michelle Dee (women empowerment), Atty. Nilo Divina (legal practice), Ann Adeline Dumaliang (environmental protection), Alan German, (public relations), Prosperidad dela Cruz Luis (science and technology), PCol. Hansel Marantan (public order and safety), PBGen. Jezebel Medina (dental medicine), George Royeca (entrepreneurship), Dr. Catherine Teh (modern medicine & surgery), and Anette Gozon-Valdes (media and public service).

“It’s an honor to be acknowledged alongside these pillars of their respective professions,” said awardee Agents International, Inc. President Alan German. “On behalf of the awardees, I extend my gratitude to the Rotary International and the committee that put this amazing awards’ night together — their work deserves recognition just as well.”

Rotary International District 3780 Past District Governor and Bagong Henerasyon Party-list Representative Bernadette Herrera congratulated the awardees and expressed her hope that “these group of distinguished individuals continue to become a pillar of excellence and inspiration to those among their respective fields and beyond.”

Quezon City Mayor Joy Belmonte also addressed the awardees as the event’s keynote speaker, who extended her congratulations and encouraged them to continue their excellent work. “May this award further intensify your efforts in pursuing the advocacies you so passionately care about,” she added.

The 2023-2024 Mario R. Nery Vocational Excellence Award also honored select individuals for their contributions to their communities. Among those cited are James Amparo, Jocelyn Castillo, Guillermo Julian Chanco, Margie de Castro, Benjamin Ganapin, Donald Gumiran, Ernesto Isla, James Olayvar, Jason Ortizo, Modesto Reymundo, Angeli Francis Rivera, and Gary Ting.

Previous awardees of the Rotary Golden Wheel Awards include GMA Network Chairman Felipe Gozon, Senator Grace Poe, Former Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana, journalist and media personality Atom Araullo, Former House Speaker Sonny Belmonte, and former ABS-CBN CEO Charo Santos-Concio, among others.

Liked this post? Follow SwirlingOverCoffee on Facebook, YouTube, and Instagram.